Hot Days Ahead in Door County

Weather forecasters are telling us that we have some hot days ahead this week.  Can they carry through for the Memorial Day weekend?  In anticipation of the heat I got out this morning and watered my strawberry plats, garden beds and lawn.  I have a million blossom–hope I get a million strawberries!   I haven’t found more than three Morel mushrooms and no asparagus, but I did discover a patch of Rhubarb, so I’ll pick that tonight and see what I can create.

I happened to be in Sturgeon Bay last Friday when the LZ Lambeau motorcycle convoy came into town.  I followed it to the Sturgeon Bay City Hall to watch the short ceremony overlooking the War Memorial.  There were five motorcycle riders riding in honor of the five Door County men killed in the Vietnam war.  From Sturgeon Bay they headed to Lambeau Field in Green Bay for the LZ Lambeau observation–a welcome home and thank you for Vietnam veterans that organizers feel is long overdue.  The event in Green Bay on Saturday night was, simply, awesome.  Our military–past and present–can be very proud of their service and I am so grateful to them.

I’ve been seeing community-minded Door Countyites working the roadsides to clean up the liter that accumulated during the winter months.  Amazing all the trash that is picked up in a short one or two mile stretch.  Thank’s to all the people who so diligently do this a couple of times a year.

The Sevastopol School Destination Imagination teams head out tomorrow for the world competition in Nashville.  Sevastopol sends three teams again this year–I can’t remember a year when Sevastopol hasn’t sent a team.  What a fantastic accomplishment for these young students.

I have a lot of real estate work to do this week, including a closing to prepare for and a new listing to bring on,  but I can’t wait for Friday.  The Farm opens, Jack is off school so he and Frankie will be in the Door and we can hit opening day.  New baby kitties, goats, pigs… loads of fun and a great way to spend the morning. Hint-get there in the morning when the animals are hungry and rested!  Another hint–buy a season pass, it’s so inexpensive and you’ll want to go back more than once.

And if you are in Door County for the Memorial Day weekend don’t miss Jacksonport’s Maifest.  It kicks off with the parade on Saturday morning and continues with two days of fun, food, music, arts & crafts, fair, games for the kids and the opportunity to see lots of people.   Watch for us in the parade.

Have a great week.

About Lisa Bieri

Realtor in Door County, Wisconsin. What sets me apart from the myriad of other Realtors? I love this area, I grew up here and am fortunate to live and work here. Whatever your ideal lifestyle, I can help you see how it can be acheived in Door County. I am a native (my family now runs seven generations deep) and I know the area like the proverbial "back of my hand". I specialize in the towns of Jacksonport, Egg Harbor, Sevastopol, Baileys Harbor, Fish Creek, Ephraim and Sister Bay. If you love the water I can tell you about Lake Michigan (on our easterly border) the Bay of Green Bay (on our westerly border) as well as Clark Lake and Kangaroo Lake--two of Door County's most popular inland lakes. I am committed to being focused on what is important to you--whether you are selling or buying. I look forward to talking with you soon.
This entry was posted in Door County Schools, Things to do, Time With Friends & Family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment